Scientific Advisory Board

An international Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) has been established to provide independent, rigorous advice to the Management Team and Research Steering Committee. The SAB will meet at least annually, and attend annual scientific meetings, undertake independent review of new and existing projects, and advise on HPRU strategy going forwards.

SAB Members:

Professor D Heymann Professor David Heymann (SAB Chair) 

Professor of Infectious Disease Epidemiology, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine;

Head of the Centre on Global Health Security at Chatham House, London;

Chairman of Public Health England

 Wendy Barclay

Professor Wendy Barclay

Chair in Influenza Virology, Imperial College London

 Bill Carman

Professor Bill Carman

CEO, Fast-Track Diagnostics Ltd

 Johan Giesecke Professor Johan Giesecke

Professor of Infectious Disease Epidemiology, Karolinska Institute Medical University, Stockholm

 Saye Khoo

Professor Saye Khoo

Professor, Department of Molecular and Clinical Pharmacology, Institute of Translational Medicine, University of Liverpool

 Jane McKeating

Professor Jane McKeating

Professor of Molecular Virology, University of Birmingham

 Lisa Roberts

Professor Lisa Roberts 

Executive Dean, Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences, University of Surrey







Sally Wellsteed

Antimicrobial Resistance and HCAI Team Leader, Public and International Health Directorate

Department of Health

Gideon Ben-Tovim

Gideon Ben-Tovim OBE  (Lay member)

Chair, North West Coast Academic Health Science Network

 Lynnette Crossley

Lynnette Crossley  (Lay member)

Senior Port Health Officer, Manchester Port Health Authority