Who We Are

HPRU-EZI Directors 

Prof Tom Solomon (University of Liverpool)

Prof Tom Solomon (University of Liverpool)

Position Name Email Work Address Tel
Leadership
Director of NIHR HPRU in Emerging and Zoonotic Infections Prof Tom Solomon tsolomon@liverpool.ac.uk University of Liverpool, Institute of Infection, Veterinary & Ecological Sciences, The Ronald Ross Building, 8 West Derby Street, Liverpool, L69 7BE +44(0)151 795 7577
NIHR HPRU in Emerging and Zoonotic Infections - UKHSA Lead  Dr Richard Vipond Richard.Vipond@ukhsa.gov.uk  UKHSA, Manor Farm Road, Porton Down, Salisbury, Wiltshire, SP4 0JG +44(0)1980 612100
NIHR HPRU in Emerging and Zoonotic Infections - University of Oxford Lead Prof Peter Horby Peter.Horby@ndm.ox.ac.uk University of Oxford, Nuffield Dept of Medicine, Old Campus Research Building, Oxford, OX3 7BN  +44(0)1865 612940
NIHR HPRU in Emerging and Zoonotic Infections - Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine Lead Prof David Lalloo

 

david.lalloo@lstmed.ac.uk

 

Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, Pembroke Place, Liverpool, L3 5QA +44(0)151 705 2525
Capacity Development and Training Lead Dr Lance Turtle

lturtle@liverpool.ac.uk

University of Liverpool, Institute of Infection, Veterinary & Ecological Sciences, Liverpool, L69 7BE +44(0)151 795 7554
Knowledge Mobilisation 
Lead Dr Paul Atkinson Paul.Atkinson@liverpool.ac.uk University of Liverpool  Institute of Population Health Sciences, 3.17 Whelan Building, Quadrangle, Liverpool L69 3GB +44(0)151 794 4552
Public/Patient and Involvement & Engagement
Lead Ashleigh Cheyne ashleigh.cheyne@ndm.ox.ac.uk 

University of Oxford, Nuffield Dept of Medicine, Old Campus Research Building, Oxford, OX3 7BN 

+44(0)1865 612940
         
Theme 1: Patient Research for Public Health
Theme Leader Dr Tom Fletcher

 

Tom.Fletcher@lstmed.ac.uk 

 

Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, Pembroke Place, Liverpool, L3 5QA +44(0)151 705 3100
Co-Lead Dr Jake Dunning

jake.dunning@ndm.ox.ac.uk 

University of Oxford, Nuffield Dept of Medicine, Old Campus Research Building, Oxford, OX3 7BN +44(0)1865 612940
Co-Lead Prof Neil French french@liverpool.ac.uk  The University of Liverpool, Institute of Infection, Veterinary & Ecological Sciences, Liverpool L69 7BE +44(0)151 795  9630
Co-Lead Dr Lance Turtle

lturtle@liverpool.ac.uk

University of Liverpool, Institute of Infection, Veterinary & Ecological Sciences, Liverpool, L69 7BE

 +44(0)151 795 7557
Theme 2: Diagnostics and Host Response
Theme Leader Prof Julian Hiscox

 julianh@liverpool.ac.uk

University of Liverpool, Liverpool Science Park IC2, 146 Brownlow Hill, Liverpool L3 5RF +44(0)151 294 0222
 Co-Lead Prof Miles Carroll miles.carroll@ndm.ox.ac.uk  UKHSA, Manor Farm Road, Porton Down, Salisbury, Wiltshire, SP04 0JG  +44(0)1980 612100 
 Co-Lead Prof Peter Simmonds  peter.simmonds@ndm.ox.ac.uk   University of Oxford, Nuffield Dept of Medicine, Old Road Campus, Oxford OX3 7BN  +44(0)1865 281233
Co-Lead Dr Emily Adams  emily.adams@lstmed.ac.uk Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, Pembroke Place, Liverpool, L3 5QA  +44(0)151 705 3223
Theme 3: Pathogen and Vector Biology
Theme Leader Prof Roger Hewson

 

Roger.Hewson@ukhsa.gov.uk 

 

UKHSA, Manor Farm Road, Porton Down, Salisbury, Wiltshire, SP4 0JG +44(0)1980 612100
Co-Lead Dr Grant Hughes grant.hughes@lstmed.ac.uk   Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, Pembroke Place, Liverpool L3 5QA  +44(0)151 705 3223
Co-Lead Prof Matthew Baylis  baylism@liverpool.ac.uk The University of Liverpool, Institute of Infection, Veterinary and Ecological Sciences, Leahurst Campus, Chester High Road, Neston, CH64 7TE  +44(0)151 794 6084 
Co-Lead Dr Jolyon Medlock

Jolyon.Medlock@ukhsa.gov.uk

UKHSA, Manor Farm Road, Porton Down, Salisbury, Wiltshire, SP4 0JG +44(0)1980 612100
Theme 4: Epidemiology and Risk Analysis
Theme Leader Prof Christl Donnelly

christl.donnelly@stats.ox.ac.uk  

Department of Statistics, University of Oxford, 24-29 St Giles', Oxford OX1 3LB +44(0)1865 612940
 Co-Lead Roberto Vivancos Roberto.Vivancos@ukhsa.gov.uk UKHSA, Rail House, Lord Nelson Street, Liverpool L1 1JF +44(0)344 225 1295 
 Co-Lead Dr Shevin Jacob shevin.jacob@lstmed.ac.uk  Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, Pembroke Place, Liverpool L3 5QA +44(0)151 705 3343
 Co-Lead Prof Amanda Semper amanda.semper@ukhsa.gov.uk  UKHSA, Manor Farm Road, Porton Down, Salisbury, Wiltshire, SP4 0JG +44(0)1980 612100
HPRU Project Team
Project Manager Andrew Carey

hpruezi@liverpool.ac.uk

University of Liverpool, Institute of Infection, Veterinary & Ecological Sciences, The Ronald Ross Building, 8 West Derby Street, Liverpool, L69 7BE +44(0)151 705 3343