External Advisory Panel

An international External Advisory Board has been established to provide independent, rigorous advice to the Management Team and Research Steering Committee. The EAP will meet at least annually, and attend annual scientific meetings, undertake independent review of new and existing projects, and advise on HPRU strategy going forwards.

EAP Members:

Professor David Heymann (EAP Chair) 

Professor of Infectious Disease Epidemiology, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine;

Head of the Centre on Global Health Security at Chatham House, London;

Chairman of Public Health England


Professor Johan Giesecke

Professor of Infectious Disease Epidemiology, Karolinska Institute Medical University, Stockholm


Professor Marion Koopmans

Head of Department of Viroscience, Erasmus MC, Wytemaweg 80, Room Ee, 1726, 3015 CN Rotterdam


Professor Lucille Blumberg

Deputy Director of the National Institute for Communicable Diseases, the National Health Laboratory Service, and Head of Public Health Surveillance and Response Division, South Africa.


Ms Lynnette Crossley  (Lay member)

Senior Port Health Officer, Manchester Port Health Authority



Professor Graham Medley

Professor of Infectious Disease Modelling, Director of CMMID
Dept of Global Health and Development

London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine